Indiana Alpha image

Indiana Alpha

Franklin College

Founding date: 1/16/1888

Installing Officer:
Grand President
Rainie Adamson Small,
Illinois Beta

Philanthropic Event:
Lips for Literacy

Installation of Indiana Alpha

The chapter began as a local group, Alpha Xi Theta, and officially became a chapter of Pi Beta Phi on January 16, 1888. Fourteen women, including future Grand President Emma Harper Turner, were charter members. Installation activities took place at the home of charter member Mary Emma Ellis, located at 500 North Main Street in Franklin, Indiana.

Living at Indiana Alpha

At Indiana Alpha, there is no chapter house. The chapter does have a suite where chapter meetings are held. There is a large arrow that hangs on a predominate wall. This is something that the chapter sees as unique. Another item is a framed display with several old badges.

Panhellenic Groups on Campus

Delta Delta Delta, Pi Beta Phi and Zeta Tau Alpha

Philanthropic Service

The Indiana Alpha’s main philanthropy event is Lips for Literacy, which is held in the spring.

Grand Council Members from Indiana Alpha

Grand Presidents

  • Emma Harper Turner

Grand Council Members

  • Helen Forsyth Raup
  • Jeannette Zeppenfeld

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award Winners from Indiana Alpha

  • E. Jane Betts (2015)
  • Betty Jan Reed Voris Packard (1992)