Iowa Zeta image

Iowa Zeta

University of Iowa

Founding date: 2/12/1882

Notable fact: Original I.C. chapter (Chi)

Installing Officers:
Rena Reynolds, Iowa Beta and Estella Walters Ball, Iowa Beta

Installation at Iowa Zeta

The chapter was installed on February 8, 1882, as Chi of I.C. Sorosis. Iowa Betas Rena Reynolds and Estella Walters Ball were instrumental in starting a chapter at the University of Iowa. When I.C. Sorosis changed its naming system, the chapter became Iowa Zeta.

Living at Iowa Zeta

All of the Iowa Zeta Chapter composites are hung throughout the house. The Pi Phi crest and songs, special to the chapter, are hung up and framed in a large common area. Pictures of the Founders and charter are also displayed. Over the years, Iowa Zeta has received some gifts from alumnae. One in particular is a huge portrait from a famous artist who lives in Iowa City. The portrait is dedicated in remembrance of Iowa Zeta Ann Wells Crossen who lost her life to cancer with a heartfelt letter attached to it from other Iowa Zeta’s in her pledge class.

Panhellenic Groups on Campus

Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Epsilon Phi, Alpha Phi, Alpha Xi Delta, Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, Delta Gamma, Delta Zeta, Gamma Phi Beta, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Phi Beta Chi, Pi Beta Phi and Zeta Tau Alpha

Philanthropic Service

Every fall the Iowa Zeta Chapter hosts a whiffle ball tournament for fraternity men called “Angels in the Outfield.” The chapter members serve hot dogs and play many games of whiffle ball. The money raised is sent to Pi Beta Phi Foundation.

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award Winners from Iowa Zeta

  • Janet Armstrong Harris (2014)
  • Becky Foster Crane (2013)

Grand Council Members from Iowa Zeta

  • Mira Troth
  • Julia E. Rogers
  • Gail De Wolf
  • Lois Snyder Finger
  • Emma Humphrey Haddock
  • Isabella Hudson (Cartwright)
  • Ella Ham Robinson