New York Alpha image

New York Alpha

Syracuse University*

Founding date: 2/11/1896

Installing Officers:
Grace Grosvenor (Shepard), Ohio Alpha; Grand President Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg,
Ohio Alpha 

Installation at New York Alpha

In 1892, a chapter was chartered at Cornell University. It was given the designation New York Alpha. The chapter was short-lived and only seven women were initiated. When a chapter at Syracuse was chartered on February 11, 1896, it too was given the New York Alpha designation. The charter members of the chapter at Syracuse included Julia A. Talbott, Louise V. Winfield, Clara G. Hookway (Dunham), Frances Beattie (Terry), Mary E. Mumford (Latham), Lida May O’Byron Blanche E Harter (Ivory), Frances May Bliss and Leora Sherwood (Gray). The chapter closed in 1984.

New York Alpha was reinstalled on April 31, 1988 by Grand President Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg, Ohio Alpha. The chapter relinquished its charter in 2013.

Notable Alumnae

  • Fran deSimone Becque, Pi Beta Phi Historian and Archivist

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award winner from New York Alpha

  • Joyce Hergenhan (1993)