Texas Beta image

Texas Beta

Southern Methodist University

Founding date: 6/10/1916

Installing Officer:
Grand Vice President Nina Harris Allen, Illinois Beta

Philanthropy Event:

Installation at Texas Beta

A local group, Pi Beta Phi, was formed in 1915. The group officially became a chapter of Pi Beta Phi on June 10, 1916. Texas Beta is the result of an alumnae meeting that took place one hot day in August, when one girl who had energy enough to even think of work said, "Wouldn’t it be nice to have a chapter here in Dallas, then the chapter would be much nearer the workings of Pi Beta Phi and have something to work for." So, the Dallas Alumnae Club and Texas Alpha got to work. On the weekend of June 10, 1916, Ethel Daniel-Dyer, a charter member of Virginia Alpha and a bride of only a few weeks, opened her cozy new home to the visitors and for all ceremonies of installation. The 20 Pi Phis taking part in the installation service were from seven chapters. The installation banquet was held at the Oriental Hotel and brought the festivities to a fitting close. No formal program had been arranged, so after singing favorite songs, the presiding officer announced a sort of game. Each one called on was to “choose" someone else before they sat down, until everyone present had told in a few words what the taking of new vows and renewing of old ones had meant to her that day.

Living at Texas Beta

The house, although it has been rebuilt, has looked very similar through its existence. The dining hall is large, and allows all chapter members a place to come together and eat, do homework or just hang out. The chapter house currently has 40 collegiate members living in the house, including all of Executive Council.

The chapter has many trophies on the tables around the house. Some date back to the 1920s. It is fun to see the old traditions sororities used to engage in here on campus, and it makes you proud that Pi Phi has won some of these events.

Panhellenic Groups on Campus

Alpha Chi Omega, Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, Delta Gamma, Gamma Phi Beta, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma and Pi Beta Phi

Philanthropic Service

Arrowspike is a volleyball tournament the chapter holds in the fall that is a fun way to raise money for Read > Lead > Achieve® and Pi Phi's partner First Book®

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award Winners

  • Susan Light Lawhon (2004)
  • Ellen Coleman Terry (2001)
  • Gail Meletio Madden (2000)
  • Sandra Street Estess (1997)
  • Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler (1994)
  • Virginia Holt McFarland (1991)

Grand Council Members from Texas Beta

Grand Presidents

  • Emily Russell Tarr

Grand Council Members

  • Julie Carney
  • Virginia Voorhees Speaker
  • Ana Mancebo Miller