Texas Zeta image

Texas Zeta

Baylor University

Founding date: 4/12/1977

Installing Officer:
Grand President Elizabeth Turner Orr, Oregon Alpha

Philanthropy Event:
Howdy, a country western-themed dance

Installation at Texas Zeta

A local group, Alpha Omega, was formed in 1924. The group officially became a chapter of Pi Beta Phi on August 13, 1977. Among the 311 women initiated, 207 were Alpha Omega alumnae. Installation took place at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Waco, Texas. The following evening, an initiation banquet was held at the Student Union Building on Baylor’s campus. The theme for the banquet was “Pi Phi Lights Anew.” Grand President Elizabeth Turner Orr, Oregon Alpha, and Grand Vice President Collegians Freda Strafford Schuyler, Arkansas Alpha, installed the chapter. A highlight of the evening was the appearance of Waco’s mayor, who presented Elizabeth Turner Orr with a proclamation declaring April 13, 1977 "Pi Phi Day" in Waco. 

Living at Texas Zeta

Texas Zeta does not have a traditional sorority house, but it does have a chapter room that was recently updated by the local alumnae club. There is a piano, a grandfather clock, a trophy cabinet and a president’s table that were all donated by alumnae and are very sepcial to the chapter. These pieces allow the women to feel a connection to their alumnae and to individuals in the chapter.

Panhellenic Groups on Campus

Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Delta Pi, Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Pi Beta Phi and Zeta Tau Alpha

Philanthropic Service

This chapter's main philanthropy event is Howdy, a country western-themed dance Pi Phi puts on for the entire university. The women sell T-shirts and have profit-sharing fundraising nights. The T-shirts are sold to the entire university and the chapter. The profit-sharing nights are through restaurants around the city of Waco who agree to donate a portion of their sales for the night to Read > Lead > Achieve®. The event is a fun way to bring the entire university and the chapter together to benefit literacy.

Notable Alumnae

  • Susie Gerrie Davis, radio host and author

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award Winners

  • Judy Locy Wright (2010)