Birmingham, Alabama, Alumnae Club

Charter date: 4/17/1928

The History of the Birmingham, Alabama, Alumnae Club 

While the Birmingham Alumnae Club is not considered an overly large club, they have quite a number of officers who have gone on to serve at the international level. In addition to Annette Mitchell Mills, the club has groomed at least seven other International Officers. The club has also had an International Emma Harper Turner winner and a Carolyn Helmane Lichtenberg winner, all within the last 30 years. While the membership has ebbed and flowed over recent years, the leadership and commitment of the officers in the club remains strong.

Annette Mitchell Mills has truly emulated the club’s core value of Lifelong Commitment over the years. In fact many of the women who served as club officers and continue to serve the club have volunteered in many different capacities over the years. It is that continued service and devotion that has contributed to the success of the club’s chapters across the state and to the Fraternity as a whole. As it continues to grow, the club sincerely hopes it can continue to see that same level of dedication and service from future generations over next 150 years!

Philanthropic Service

The Birmingham, Alabama Alumnae Club participates in the Arrowcraft Christmas Shop at the Kirkland Senior Living Center, the Champions Are Readers® (CAR) program at Gresham Elementary School and Vincent Elementary and book drives benefitting Children’s Hospital, Better Basics and the YMCA. The club also supports an afterschool care program at the Pelham YMCA, and have received a Fraternity Day of Service grant supporting this cause.

Awards and Club Recognition

  • Excellence in Communication
  • Club of Excellence and Superior Performance
  • Province nominee for Ideal Club for several years
  • 2nd Place Contributor for Arrowcraft by Club Size (1991 Convention)

Emma Harper Turner Award

Carolyn Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award

Meaningful Momentos

The club has several awards named after the founders of Alabama Alpha and Annette Mitchell Mills. The newest honor is awarded to an outstanding collegian at Birmingham Southern, and was created to honor Marilyn Smith Rowell.

Notable Alumnae

  • Annette Mitchell Mills — House Director Committee 1974-76, Director of Alumnae Advisory Committees 1975-76, Grand Council Secretary 1976-79, National Panhellenic Conference delegate 1979-1985, Grand Vice President Collegians 1985-1987, and first Fraternity Archivist 1989
  • Marilyn Smith Rowell — International Emma Harper Turner Recipient (2003), Past BAC Club President, Regional Membership Specialist, Foundation Ambassador, Past Alumnae Club Recruitment Information Committee/Chairman and Club Secretary
  • Jan Hatchett — Past Collegian Province President, Supervisor of Chapter Histories, Past BAC Club President, and current Alumnae Club Recruitment Information Committee/Chairman
  • Betty Lynn Wright — Past Alumnae Province President
  • Annemarie Long Wilson — Past Alumnae Province President, Alumnae Task Force Committee member (2004), Past Club President for Louisville and Charlotte Alumnae Clubs, current House Corporation President at Alabama Alpha and BAC treasurer
  • Becky Thomas Yarboro — Past Alumnae Province President
  • Marilyn Merkle — Past Alumnae Province President
  • Amy Hix — Past Regional Programming Specialist, Past President of the Career Group and Past House Corporation President at Alabama Alpha
  • Bitsy Youngblood — Past Club President, Club Treasurer, House Corporation President, House Corporation Treasurer and Alabama Alpha Building Committee member
  • Kay Wise — Building Campaign Committee member for Alabama Alpha, Alumnae Advisory Committee advisor for Alabama Alpha since 1990
  • Virginia McMahan — Founding member of Alabama Alpha, served as Assistant to the Director of Alumni Affairs at Birmingham Southern College
  • Meta Mitchell — Past Arrowcraft Chairman, Past Club Vice President and Past Club Secretary Auxiliary Club President for the Kirkwood Senior Center