Arlington Heights, Illinois, Alumnae Club

Charter date: 4/15/1951

The History of the Arlington Heights, Illinois, Alumnae Club

For years, there were only three Pi Phis living in Arlington Heights — Elsie Hubbard, Virginia Burfeind and Jackie Wood. As the town grew, more and more Pi Phis moved in. In 1951 there were finally enough Pi Phis in the area to form the Arlington Heights, Illinois, Alumnae Club. So, Elsie Hubbard, Virginia Burfeind, Jackie Wood, Betty Swanson, Betty Drake and Miriam Doane established the club. Within a year, the club grew to 14 members who lived in Arlington Heights, Mount Prospect and Palatine. Currently the club has 1,029 Pi Phis who live in the Arlington Heights, Illinois, Alumnae Club area.

Philanthropic Service 

Club members have participated in volunteering with and donating to the Arrowcraft Sale, The Harbor, Sophomore Award, Home of the Sparrow, Champions Are Readers® (CAR) and Project Linus. 

Awards and Club Recognition

  • Chapter Support Award (2013)
  • Chicago Northwest Suburban Alumnae Panhellenic’s Athena Award (Wendy Davis, 2014; Angie Underwood, 2012)
  • Club of Excellence (2016, 2015, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008)
  • Club of Superior Performance (2014, 2007, 2006)
  • Excellence in Communication (2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010, 2008, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002)
  • Excellence in Community Service (2013, 2012, 2011)
  • First in Arrowmont Contributions for Club Size 76-100 (1995)
  • Largest contributor to Local Panhellenic Groups (1996)
  • Mu Province Winner (1997)
  • Region Three Young Alumna Award Winner (Ashley Richardson, 2013; Lindsay Daudelin, 2012)
  • Top 10 Club for Arrowmont Contributions (1997, 1996, 1995)

Notable Alumnae

  • Judy Whitacre, 1982–1983 Mu Province President; 1983–1987 Director of Membership; 1987-1989 Grand Secretary
  • Sheila Sherman, 1983–1989 Mu Province President; 1989–1993 Director of Undergraduate Programming​
  • Ann Brown, 1983 President, Women’s Western Golf Association; 1991 President, United States Curling Association (first female President); 1976–2000 won U.S. Women’s Curling Association National Bonspiel seven times and with her husband twice took top prize in the Illinois State Mixed Championship; 1993 Elected to the Curling Hall of Fame; 2002 Served as a Senior Curling Official at the Salt Lake City Olympics
  • Katie Kennicott, 2002–2004 International Links to Literacy Committee
  • Angie Underwood, 2013 Present Mayor of Long Grove