Winnipeg Area, Manitoba, Alumnae Club

Charter date: 1/1/1930

The History of the Winnipeg Area, Manitoba, Alumnae Club

The chapter was founded in 1930, just prior to the Great Depression and the war years. Members supported the forces overseas through various events and fundraisers. A great flooding of the Red River occurred in 1950, an event that disrupted the community. Many Pi Phis learned how to fill and stack sand bags for the dikes to stop the river from flooding further.

Philanthropic Service

Manitoba Alpha Pi Beta Phis have volunteered their time to the Arrow in the Arctic event and to Arrowmont in their fundraising efforts.

Awards and Club Recognition

  • Emerging Excellence Club – Omicron Province (1997)

Notable Alumnae

  • Shirley Bradshaw, elected to the office of Theta Province Vice President at the 39th biennial Convention and the only Canadian to serve as a national officer
  • Linda Greenaway, Miss Winnipeg
  • Elaine Protheroe and partner William Trimble, Ice Waltz Champions of Canada 1955
  • Evelyn Morris, Broadway actress known as Judith Evelyn
  • Isabel Clark Winkler, former assistant to Amy Burnham Onken
  • Norma Shirley Campbell, Panhellenic President in 1949